Skydive Sunday 14th September 2014

At 11.40 a.m. I received a text from Go Skydive which said that the weather was not ideal for skydiving.  They were not cancelling our booking but we could reschedule our skydive if we wanted to.  If we did go we could have a bit of a wait.  We decided to go anyway.

I went with Dave, Amy and my grandaughter, Teagan.  Jay, Bridget and Kieron were going to meet us there.  We arrived early at 1.00 p.m, so I went and registered.

Despite the earlier warning of bad weather, it all seemed fine, planes were going up and although it was quite cloudy it was a warm and pleasant afternoon.

We went to the cafe and got coffees and biscuits.  I sat down with my coffee thinking “Well, we’ve got a long wait ahead of us so lets just soak up the atmosphere, do some people watching and watch the planes ….”  Dave’s brother phoned to say they’d be along, Dave told them it would be ages before we went up so they had plenty of time.

But, no sooner had I finished my coffee than my name was called… Jay and Bridget hadn’t even arrived, and I was off.  I went and got kitted out, then walked over to the plane with my instructor.  He explained that he was in charge so we would be the last to get on – and one of the first to get off!  The plane went up and up and up – above the clouds – that was amazing.  Having only ever been in a plane once before when we skydived from 10,000 ft, I’ve never been ABOVE THE CLOUDS.  It was beautiful.  The views were stunning.  Then it was hat on, goggles down, doors open and one, two we were the third couple to go.  AND WE WENT THROUGH THE CLOUDS. For just a few seconds it’s like you’re in nothing, just a big soft ball of cottonwool.  Then we came through the clouds and could see land below, fields, houses, streets. …….

 

Then whoosh out comes the parachute and the whole pace slows down.  Last time I did this we just drifted down, but this time we did twists and turns and spun around, literally putting a whole new spin on the experience.  Then all too soon it was time to land (I could have stayed up there all day).  I did as I’d been told – grabbed hold of my legs and lifted them up, not the most ladylike image as you’ll see from the photos!  Then as we got close to the ground I was told right stand up AND I DID – AND I LANDED ON MY FEET!!  Incredible.

Then we all got into the mini bus for the trip back across the field – all comparing notes on this amazing experience.

When I got back Jay and Bridget had arrived, and before long it was their turn to go up up up and away!  We all had the best day.
skydive 14 Sept 2014 005 skydive 14 Sept 2014 035 Legs Up skydive 14 Sept 2014 040 Legs stillup skydive 14 Sept 2014 043 landed on feet! skydive 14 Sept 2014 065 Jay getting ready Bridget ready to go Jay and Bridget Dave Maggie & Dickie 2

Leave a comment